Pumpkin+Muffin= Breakfast

Math equations and pumpkin pie always remind me of my dad.  First, my dad is a math genius and second, my dad always makes the best pumpkin pie during Thanksgiving.  During the holidays I wasn’t able to go home and visit my family, which of course made me sad because I missed out on the most epic pumpkin pie.

However, lucky for me  canned pumpkin is sold in the grocery stores year round.  Since the holidays are over, but I still wanted something that reminded me of home, I decided to take my dad’s pumpkin pie recipe and make it into a new dish.

I think my dad would be so proud that I attempted to make this blog post into a math equation. In all honesty I was going through a process of analysis to determine how many ways I can use pumpkin in a recipe.  Of course most of the easy dishes are either breakfast or dessert and because of my busy work schedule I need a grab and go kind of meal…hence muffins.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of canned pumpkin
  • 1 can of evaporated milk
  • 1/4 cup condensed milk
  • 1/3 cup white sugar
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 2 heaping tablespoons of cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon of ground ginger
  • 1 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 teaspoon of nutmeg
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 1/2  cups of white flour
  • 1 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1/2 baking powder
  • 1/2 cup crushed walnuts (optional)

IMG_4992

Directions:

  1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Mix all wet ingredients in a bowl.  Add all spices and mix again. Set aside.
  3.  Mix remaining dry ingredients in a separate bowl.
  4. Slowly add dry mix to the wet mix, until well blended.
  5. Mix in walnuts (optional)
  6. Pour batter into greased muffin pan.
  7. Bake for 12-15 minutes (until a golden brown)

Immediately take out of muffin pan let cool on a cooling rack.  You can also freeze these muffins and heat them in the microwave when you are ready to eat!

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

